Some typical use cases

Go to content
Some typical use cases from practice

Nothing to be installed in your SAP systems!You can start immediately - in all your SAP systems with an ABAP stack.Also in S/4HANA systems.Get a free trial license and discover the possibilities!

Are you an SAP Basis administrator, SAP project manager or employee or do you work in the IT support for SAP systems? Then you probably know one thing or another from your previous work with SAP systems and SAP projects:

Inadvertently, all users of a client were locked.
This can happen, for example, during go-lives or maintenance activities. There is no standard function in the SAP System that can help you in this case. With our product, you can use another client in the same system to become capable of acting again.

Data must be corrected in the system, but
(1) neither an administrative function (SM30 or similar) nor a correction program is available for the data to be corrected
or
(2) the system and client settings do not allow the use of the management function (and there is no possibility to open the system or it would take too long)
Case 1 can occur for tables without a table maintenance dialog - e.g. master data tables, status fields in tables or all fields of tables which cannot be maintained with the standard functions.
Case 2 can occur, for example, when customizing data is changed if the system/client is not open for customizing changes.
You can use the SAP standard functions (SM30 and so on) for many tables - for those tables for which table maintenance is allowed or set up. But what if you need to correct data for which these options are not available? Or if many thousands of data records have to be corrected, so that the option of data maintenance using the standard transactions does not help you either?
"Shortcut for SAP systems" offers you previously unavailable options for data correction!

Data has to be copied from one system / client to another system / client.
This can be useful for customizing data, for example.
Perhaps the target system is in the same transport landscape, in which case a transport request would also be conceivable. This option is also available for systems in another transport landscape - with correspondingly more effort.
But this much is certain: you will not be able to achieve this with the standard functions as easily and quickly as with our product!

Data must be backed up before a system copy and restored after a system copy or you want to back up system-specific data separately.
There is a lot of data that is system specific. For example, RFC connections, the license key for your SAP system, the ALE configuration, scheduled jobs, the definition of logon and server groups, the system and client settings in SCC4, the configuration of the Security Audit Log, and so on.  
Overwriting this data from another system would invalidate the data and could cause serious problems.
You may already have a solution for some of this data. You may be able to do some of the work manually. But it is faster and safer with our solution. Using our command-line tool, you can now integrate this work into automated workflows!

SAP users are to be copied from one system / client to another system / client (e.g. in a roll-in or carve-out)
or
SAP users should be backed up and restored after a system copy.
The client copy in the SAP System allows you to copy all user master records and their authorizations to another client or do a client export into the file system. The emphasis here is on "all" - whereby all user master records in the target client are also overwritten. This means: all or nothing. Either you take the entire stock of user master records from a source client and lose the previously existing user master records, or you leave it as it is. A little from here and a little from there: no, this is not possible in the SAP standard system.
We have closed a real gap in our product in the functional scope for user administration. Users - and also their role assignments - can be flexibly and selectively copied back and forth between clients. You can also write the users to a file on your PC, "park" them there and - if your target client is available again after a system or client copy - transfer the users back into the system. This saves you the time-consuming task of setting up an empty client to hold the users to be backed up, resp. the cumbersome handling of the transport requests of a client export. This way, you can keep tediously set up test users, project team members and system users, saving a lot of time and avoiding errors and annoyance that would arise if the users were manually set up again. You can also integrate this function into automated processes via our command-line tool.
And in case you are faced with a roll-in or carve-out: this is the solution for the user part!

    Passwords for many users must be assigned.
    Do 50 test users have to be provided with an initial password to start the test? Or are the passwords of 35 system users to be adjusted after a copy so that the interfaces work again? Unfortunately, in the SAP standard this is only possible for each user individually. It is possible to generate a new initial password for many users in one go, but this is then a generated and individual password. This does not help you either for the test users with the password already published to the team or for the system users with their different passwords.
    In "Shortcut for SAP systems" we have closed this gap in SAP user administration. You can assign either an individual password or the same password to any number of users - via our command-line tool even in automated processes!
    . This means that the test can begin more quickly, the interfaces run again more quickly, and Basis administrators or user administrators can once again devote themselves to more attractive tasks than maintaining the passwords of countless users.

    You need a specific information for each of your SAP systems.
      One of your systems is being changed over - in which of your SAP systems do RFC connections to this system exist?
      An employee is transferring to the competition - in which SAP systems is his user to be deleted?
      Due to an antitrust case, you are required to analyze business data related to company xyz - which of your SAP systems should be considered for this?
      Or do you just have another question that can be easily answered within a single SAP system - but which poses problems for you in a cross-system analysis in view of the large number of systems?
      With "Shortcut for SAP systems" you can flexibly and quickly perform ad-hoc queries across systems.

        And when it's getting really precarious:

      Authorizations must be assigned, but your Identity Management System is not available or the approval flow is interrupted.
      You probably have an emergency user for cases like this. And it is usually also a good idea not to rely completely on an IdM system and to have real user administrators and authorization folders set up in the system for cases of emergency.
      If it is really urgent, hopefully one of these options will be available to you - i.e. you can get to the emergency user or one of the set up authorization folders is available. On weekends this could be problematic...
      Or you have our solution in use.

      Your logistics are at risk and you need to run an emergency corrective program, but...
      • the development system is not available (offline backup at the weekend)
      • there is no transport possibility (yes, there is also a weekend for basis administrators ;-) )
      • formalism and bureaucracy are too slow to solve the problem in time.
      You might think that anything is possible with SAP_ALL via an emergency user in the system. No, unfortunately it is not. For example, if no developer key has been set up for the emergency user, an emergency user cannot create a program in the system.
      But what the emergency user cannot do, our solution can - without a development and test system, without a transport request and without a developer key.
      Your company, the supply and satisfaction of your customers, and thus your business success depend heavily on the trouble-free operation of your SAP systems. If everything works as intended and described at all times: great!
      If not, you will be glad to have our solution in place. Nothing needs to be installed in your SAP systems for this!
      Shortcut IT GmbH
      Kreuzberger Stra├če 8
      31226 Peine
      GERMANY
      Tel.: +49-170-9377125
      Back to content

Shortcut IT - Anwendungsfälle - Shortcut IT

Direkt zum Seiteninhalt
Einige Anwendungsfälle aus der Praxis
Sind Sie SAP Basis-Administrator, SAP Projektleiter oder -Mitarbeiter oder arbeiten Sie im SAP-Support? Dann kennen Sie sicher das eine oder andere aus Ihrer bisherigen Arbeit mit SAP-Systemen und SAP-Projekten:

Versehentlich wurden alle Benutzer eines Mandanten gesperrt.
Das kann z.B. in Go-Lives oder bei Wartungstätigkeiten passieren. Es gibt keine Standard-Funktion im SAP-System, die Ihnen in diesem Fall weiterhelfen kann. Mit unserem Produkt können Sie über einen anderen Mandanten des gleichen Systems wieder handlungsfähig werden.

Es müssen Daten im System korrigiert werden, aber
(1) für die zu korrigierenden Daten steht weder eine Verwaltungsfunktion (SM30 o.ä.) noch ein Korrekturprogramm zur Verfügung
 oder
(2) die System- und Mandanteneinstellungen erlauben die Verwendung der Verwaltungsfunktion nicht (und es besteht keine Möglichkeit für eine Systemöffnung bzw. würde es zu lange dauern)
Fall 1 kann für Tabellen ohne Tabellenpflegedialog auftreten - z.B. Stammdatentabellen, Statusfelder in Tabellen bzw. alle Felder von Tabellen, die nicht mit den Standardfunktionen gepflegt werden können.
Fall 2 kann z.B. bei der Änderung von Customizingdaten auftreten, wenn das System / der Mandant nicht für Customizingänderungen geöffnet ist.
Für etliche Tabellen können die SAP-Standardfunktionen (SM30 etc.) verwendet werden - für die Tabellen, für die die Tabellenpflege erlaubt bzw. eingerichtet ist. Was aber, wenn Sie Daten korrigieren müssen, für die diese Möglichkeiten nicht bestehen? Oder wenn viele Tausend Datensätze korrigiert werden müssen, so dass Ihnen die Möglichkeit der Datenpflege über die Standard-Transaktionen auch nicht weiterhilft?
"Shortcut for SAP systems" bietet Ihnen bisher nicht vorhandene Möglichkeiten der Datenkorrektur!

Es müssen Daten von einem System / Mandant in ein anderes System / einen anderen Mandanten kopiert werden.
Das kann z.B. für Customizing-Daten sinnvoll sein.
Vielleicht ist das Ziel-System in der gleichen Transport-Landschaft, dann wäre auch ein Transportauftrag denkbar. Auch bei Systemen in einer anderen Transport-Landschaft ist diese Möglichkeit noch gegeben - mit entsprechend mehr Aufwand.
Aber so viel ist sicher: so einfach und schnell wie mit unserem Produkt werden Sie es mit den Standard-Funktionen nicht erreichen können!

Es müssen Daten vor einer Systemkopie gesichert und nach Systemkopie wiederhergestellt werden oder Sie möchten systemspezifische Daten separat sichern.
Es gibt viele Daten, die systemspezifisch sind. Denken Sie z.B. an RFC-Verbindungen, den Lizenzschlüssel für Ihr SAP-System, die ALE-Konfiguration, eingeplante Jobs, die Definition der Logon- und Servergruppen, die System- und Mandanteneinstellungen in SCC4, die Konfiguration des Security Audit Log und und und...  
Das Überschreiben dieser Daten aus einem anderen System würde diese Daten invalidieren und ggf. erhebliche Probleme bereiten.
Ggf. haben Sie für einige dieser Daten bereits eine Lösung. Vielleicht erledigen Sie einiges durch manuelle Nacharbeiten. Aber schneller und sicherer geht es mit unserer Lösung.

Es sollen SAP-Benutzer von einem System / Mandant auf ein anderes System / einen anderen Mandanten kopiert werden
 oder
SAP-Benutzer sollen gesichert und nach einer Systemkopie wiederhergestellt werden.
Die Mandantenkopie im SAP-System ermöglicht Ihnen, alle Benutzerstammsätze sowie deren Berechtigungen in einen anderen Mandaten zu kopieren. Die Betonung liegt hier auf "alle" - wobei auch alle Benutzerstammsätze im Zielmandanten überschrieben werden. Das heißt: alles oder nichts. Entweder man nimmt den gesamten Bestand von Benutzerstammsätzen aus einem Quellmandant und verliert die vorher existierenden Benutzerstämme oder man lässt es so wie es ist. Ein bisschen von hier und ein bisschen von da: nein, das geht im SAP-Standard nicht.
Wir haben in unserem Produkt eine echte Lücke im Funktionsumfang für die Benutzerverwaltung geschlossen. Benutzer - und auch deren Rollenzuordnungen - können flexibel und selektiv zwischen Mandanten hin- und herkopiert werden. Sie können die Benutzer auch in eine Datei auf Ihrem PC schreiben, dort "parken" und - wenn Ihr Zielmandant nach einer System- oder Mandantenkopie wieder verfügbar ist - die Benutzer wieder ins System übertragen. Das erspart die aufwändige Einrichtung eines leeren Mandanten für die Vorhaltung der zu sichernden Benutzer. So können Sie mühsam eingerichtete Testuser, Mitarbeiter des Projektteams sowie Systemuser erhalten, sparen dabei viel Zeit und vermeiden Fehler und Ärger, die sich bei einer erneuten manuellen Anlage der Benutzer ergäben.

    Es müssen Passwörter für viele Anwender zugeordnet werden.
    Müssen 50 Testuser mit einem Initialkennwort versorgt werden, damit der Test beginnen kann? Oder sind die Passwörter von 35 Systemusern nach einer Kopie so anzupassen, dass die Schnittstellen wieder funktionieren? Im SAP-Standard geht das leider nur für jeden Benutzer einzeln. Es gibt zwar die Möglichkeit, für viele Benutzer ein neues Initialkennwort in einem Rutsch zu generieren, aber das ist dann eben ein generiertes und individuelles Kennwort. Das hilft Ihnen weder bei den Testusern mit dem schon an die Mannschaft publiziertem Kennwort noch bei den Systemusern mit ihren jeweils unterschiedlichen Kennwörtern weiter.
    In "Shortcut for SAP systems" haben wir diese Lücke der SAP-Benutzerverwaltung geschlossen. Sie können einer beliebigen Anzahl von Benutzern entweder ein individuelles Kennwort oder das gleiche Kennwort zuweisen. So kann der Test schneller beginnen, die Schnittstellen laufen schneller wieder, und die Basisadministratoren bzw. Benutzerverwalter können sich wieder reizvolleren Aufgaben als der Kennwortpflege unzähliger Benutzer zuwenden.

Es müssen Berechtigungen zugewiesen werden, aber Ihr Identity Management System ist nicht verfügbar oder der Genehmigungsweg ist unterbrochen.
Vermutlich haben Sie einen Notfalluser für solche Fälle. Und i.d.R. ist es auch sinnvoll, sich nicht vollständig auf ein IdM-System zu verlassen und für den Fall der Fälle reale Benutzerverwalter und Berechtigungszuordner im System eingerichtet zu haben.
Wenn es wirklich dringend ist, steht Ihnen hoffentlich eine dieser Möglichkeiten zur Verfügung - d.h. Sie kommen an den Notfalluser heran oder einer der eingerichteten Berechtigungzuordner ist verfügbar. Am Wochenende könnte das problematisch sein...
Oder Sie haben unsere Lösung im Einsatz.

Ihre logistischen Abläufe sind in Gefahr und Sie müssen ein dringendes Korrektur-Programm ins System bringen, aber...
  • das Entwicklungssystem ist nicht verfügbar (Offline-Backup am Wochenende)
  • es besteht keine Transportmöglichkeit (ja, auch für Basis-Administratoren gibt es ein Wochenende ;-) )
  • Formalismus und Bürokratie sind zu träge, um das Problem rechtzeitig zu lösen.
Man könnte meinen, dass über einen im System vorhandenen Notfalluser mit SAP_ALL alles möglich ist. Nein, ist es leider nicht. Wurde beispielsweise für den Notfalluser kein Entwicklerschlüssel eingerichtet, kann auch ein Notfalluser kein Programm im System anlegen.
Aber was der Notfalluser nicht kann, kann unsere Lösung - ohne Entwicklungs- und Testsystem, ohne Transportauftrag und ohne Entwicklerschlüssel.

Wir können förmlich spüren, dass Ihnen beim Lesen einiger Zeilen Bedenken kommen... da gibt es doch noch so etwas wie "Compliance", Anforderungen bzgl. IT-Sicherheit, Nachvollziehbarkeit, Genehmigungen, Dokumentation usw. usw...
Das ist alles richtig. Aber was ist wichtiger, wenn es wirklich darauf ankommt: die strikte Einhaltung von Prozessbeschreibungen oder die Belieferung und Zufriedenheit Ihrer Kunden?
Wenn alles funktioniert wie vorgesehen und beschrieben: klasse!
Wenn nicht... ja, dann werden Sie froh sein, unsere Lösung im Einsatz zu haben.

Shortcut IT GmbH
Kreuzberger Straße 8
31226 Schwicheldt
Tel.: 0170/9377125
Unser RSS feed
Zurück zum Seiteninhalt